Woodworking

I’ve always enjoyed making things with wood. When I was a kid, I used to make swords and shields in my grandfather’s basement. He often scolded me because he didn’t like me playing with his power tools as a kinder—understandably. Now, I’m going on 31 and building basic furniture like shelves and tables.

I restarted woodworking a few years ago because I wanted customized furniture. It can be quite difficult finding the right piece to fit into a narrow Japanese apartment, not to mention finding something aesthetically suitable within a reasonable price range. I’ve also noticed the woodworking process to be quite therapeutic. It’s relaxing and slows down your mind. I’ve been increasing my basic tool collection over the last few years. My first major purchase was a Ryobi power drill. My most recent inspiring yet inexpensive addition was a Kreg Jig Mini. So far I’ve used it for raised garden beds, reinforcing sliding drawers, joining boards together (flat and 90º angles), etc.

My next project will be more technical and require a few more tools. I’m going to make a simple farmhouse table, so I’ll need an orbit sander to even and smooth the surfaces. I’m going to keep the wood’s natural color and finish it with polyurethane. I’m thinking of making something like this.

There’s something appealing to me about using your own handmade furniture in a home. Even if your plan is the same as another, your piece will always look original and have its own character. This adds to the atmosphere of your interior, and your pieces are great conversation topics when you have company.

Leave a Reply

