Retro Gaming

I just recently got a Wii. My wife and I had originally bought it for her mother to exercise and increase her range of motion with Wii Fit and Wii Resort. Unfortunately she never used it.

She had the Wii for about three years. She used it no more than five times. I suggested to my wife, “If your mother’s not using it, we might as well take it. I’d like to try some Wii games.” My wife agreed, and her mother was happy to give it to us. I guess she didn’t like her birthday present…

My wife and I have been playing it for a few months now. We currently own Wii Resort and Wii Fit (bought for her mother) and New Super Mario Bros. Wii which I bought last month for my wife (she loves Mario). She’s playing it more than I am.

One thing that just recently caught my attention is the Wii’s Virtual Console. I never knew we could purchase older games for NES, SNES, Sega Genesis, and Nintendo 64. This greatly increased the Wii’s value! When I finish FF4 on DS, I’d really like to replay these NES classics:

  • River City Ransom
  • Final Fantasy
  • Final Fantasy II
  • Final Fantasy III
  • Megaman 2
  • Ninja Gaiden
  • Double Dragon II
  • Bionic Commando
  • Metroid

The SNES list will come at a later time.

I’ve loved video games since the late 80’s, but I only really got into gaming on the original PlayStation, especially during Square’s golden era of RPGs. For this reason, I’m planning to buy a PlayStation 3. Because just like Wii’s Virtual Console, PlayStation 3 has a PlayStation Network with a library of all the original PlayStation games. There are so many games I would like to replay—especially in Japanese. It’ll be a new experience. I’m really looking forward to playing Chrono Cross and Final Fantasy VI.

Leave a Reply

