Office Inefficiency

As mentioned before, I’ve been translating Japanese and English correspondence for for my school’s exchange program since the quake of 3/11. These tasks are now daily. I made several suggestions about how to optimize these tasks.

Current process
Client: Compose document on computer → Print → Fax → Call to confirm if received
Me: Translate document on computer → Print → Fax → Call to confirm if received

How I suggested we should do it
Client: Email
Me: Reply

No luck.

4 thoughts on “Office Inefficiency

  1. LOL. In the office where I work, where we share a NETWORKED computer system, I had a guy at the next desk print out a wikipedia page for me to reference.

    Like

  2. @Mr. S.
    I'm with you on it. I'm adding it to my “odd Japanese social phenomena” lexicon, e.g., karōshi, parasite singles and lolicon.

    Like

  3. @Bobby Judo
    That's almost as bad as some of my coworkers printing emails for me, regardless of the fact that I've given them my email address and told them “Don't print it. Send it to me.” Maybe they just don't want me to know their email address? I'm overthinking… right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

