Goodbye Microsoft

Vista has caused a lot of problems for me. These problems have been exacerbated because I’m using the OS in Japanese. I bought a laptop in Japan in late 2006. There was a lot of hype about Vista at the time, especially from retailers. I was wary about using a new OS in a foreign language.

The first problem that I suspected was would not be able to change the language interface. The retailer said it would be possible to change in the settings, but I realized afterward it’s only possible in the Ultimate version. This was of course not included with my laptop.

The next problem happened when trying to connect to the internet. My flatmate had a wireless network set up in our apartment, but the router would not welcome Vista. The problem could not be fixed. I had to buy a 15 meter Ethernet cord, creating clutter from the living room to my bedroom. My flatmate was running XP and enjoying his wireless, high speed, fiber optic internet. Even currently there are a lot of bugs with Vista. They do improve a little with the constant Vista updates, but I would never say Vista is a stable OS.

My main problem with the OS was not with the bugs or language problems though. The root of the problem was the lack of simplicity. Vista is so heavy and demanding of your system, regardless of what software you’re running.

Windows 7 claims to have solved all of these problems. I did my research and it seemed OK. I visited the Microsoft website in an attempt to download the W7 upgrade. It was another failure. It’s not possible to download the English version from Japan. I called the help line to ask for advice and I was suggested to either look for an English version in major Japanese retailers (which I couldn’t find) or purchase the more expensive Ultimate version in Japanese and change the language interface in the settings. No thank you.

Microsoft, I’ve given you enough chances. We will no longer be doing business together. I am now dual booting my laptop with Ubuntu 9.10 but using Vista for iTunes and a few other apps. I’ve been using Ubuntu for a few days. It puts Vista to shame. Ubuntu 9.10 is incredibly simple, has a beautiful interface, and is lightning fast. My laptop is now a dual boot of Ubuntu and Vista. However, after using Ubuntu, I don’t have the patience to deal with Vista anymore. Thank you Ubuntu.

One thought on “Goodbye Microsoft

  1. There's this new widget on Blogger that allows you to see your followers with pictures. you should add it to the right hand column, give it a week and see if you like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

