Summer Fun Pt. 3

I was lucky to have this animal experience. It happened on my way to Ōgaki, Gifu. Darren and I were riding our bikes on Route 258. I saw something in the distance, between a forest and a field. It was a wild monkey. I got off my bike and followed it. As I got closer, I noticed he was carrying something, an armful of limes. When it noticed me, it got scared and dropped a few limes on the ground. I moved closer. The monkey hesitated to pick up its fruit. It backed away. I approached it while I staring into its eyes, something recommended not to do with monkeys. I picked up its limes and followed the monkey into the forest, but I lost it into the trees. The monkey was beautiful and its limes were delicious.

This was enough to satisfy me for my third goal of the summer, but I also got to touch a lizard somewhere between Gifu and Shiga. It was in the mountains on our bike trail. I saw it and picked it up. It squirmed out of my hands and ran away into the forest. The lizard was about 30 cm long, with a black back and gold and copper sides.

Leave a Reply

