Turtle Hunting

Today was such a nice day I had to go outside. My girlfriend and I decided to go for a run together, but unfortunately she got tired too quickly. Our run turned into a walk…

We decided to walk along the riverside. There were so many turtles there. I tried to catch a few, but it was impossible to even get near them. Red-eared sliders are extremely fast and aware of their surroundings.

Later Rina went home, and I went to the local home center to buy a net. When I went back to the river, I was greeted by an overwhelming amount of sliders but couldn’t catch any. I did however catch a slower and less aware Reeve’s turtle. Its shell was about 20 cm long (front to back). After some careful observation, I released it back into the river. The turtle smelled like something that had been fermenting in the heat.

Reeve’s turtle plastron

 

Leave a Reply

