Yamada High – Chapter 6 – Relationships With Non-OC1 Teachers

At YHS there were quite a few teachers. I’m sure there were over 50, but less than 100. Since I had some free time on my hands I spent a lot of time talking with them. It was also great practice for my Japanese (and French, which I will get to later). Everyone at this school was very nice.

Matsuoka-Sensei

English teacher (grammar and etc., not OC1). One of the highest English levels at the school. He studied English for a while in Cleveland. I think this is one of the main reasons for his high fluency. His English is clear and easy to understand. He really liked food, especially milk, in the USA. Many Japanese who study abroad tend to hang out with only Japanese and sometimes Koreans, but he seemed to have many local friends. He played hockey and also learned some Spanish during his stay. He also travelled to Peru. He said that being able to interact and communicate with locals is a great feeling. I couldn’t agree more.

Izawa-Sensei

Math teacher. His desk was next to mine in the staff room. We talked together a lot. He likes joking around and having fun. He was always ordering different types of test your intelligence puzzles and games. He always had me try them too. Some of them were really hard. He loves to read the manga One Piece. He collects and reads them religiously. He lent two books a week. The next week he would quizz me on those two books. This was great Japanese reading comprehension practice. His questions were always in English though (He wanted to practice his English).

Kōno-Sensei

Japanese teacher. She sat at the desk behind me. Great personality, smart, interesting, funny, very proper, and beautiful. She always seemed so cute and pure. She taught me a lot of useful Japanese expressions too. She loved the manga Slam Dunk.

The French Guy

Not a teacher, but he did administrative tasks in the office. Eccentric. He could not speak any English but his French was really good. We always talked in French. It always surprised the other teachers around us. He said he went to France to study art a long time ago. While there, he fell in love with French culture. He often told me about his paintings and his experiences in France. He was always a fun person to talk to. He has a special energy that rubs off onto people.

Morioka-Sensei

Another English teacher but not OC1. Very friendly woman. Confident speaker. I talked to her a lot as well. She often told me about her family. She often gave me good advice about studying Japanese (in English).

Leave a Reply

